Home » Communications & Intergovernmental Relations » About Our District

About Our District

What and Where

Eugene School District 4J is a K–12 public school district in and around Eugene, Oregon.

The district spans 155 square miles in Oregon’s southern Willamette Valley. Most of the city of Eugene (about 85 percent) lies inside 4J’s boundaries, as do the town of Coburg and a small part of Linn County to the north.

4J’s administration building, the Education Center, is located at 200 North Monroe Street, Eugene, OR 97402. Most central departments are located there.

Students and Schools

More than 16,000 students in grades K–12 attend 4J schools in 19 elementary school programs, eight middle schools, four comprehensive high schools, and alternative high school programs.

Program options include strong and varied neighborhood schools, five K–12 language immersion programs (French, Japanese, two Spanish programs, and a new Mandarin Chinese program that started with grades K–1 in 2017 and will grow by one grade each year), other alternative schools, and an International Baccalaureate (IB) high school program on multiple campuses.

There are also five publicly funded charter schools located in the Eugene School District. For more information contact the charter schools directly.

Information About All 4J Schools

School Enrollment Report (10/1/17)

Why do people say “4J?”

Many people say “Eugene School District,” or “Eugene School District 4J,” but “4J” is easy to both say and write. Also, it helps to differentiate from the Bethel School District, which is also located in Eugene.

Where did the name come from? The Eugene School District originated in 1854, five years before Oregon attained statehood. The district grew over time and in 1964 incorporated Coburg School. Since the Coburg attendance boundary goes into Linn County nearly to Harrisburg, this became a “joint” school district: Thus, “4J.” The “4” means that 4J was the fourth school district incorporated in Lane County. The “J” means that it is a joint district, including parts of two Oregon counties.