Home » News » Featured » ACE Award Nominees Named

ACE Award Nominees Named

Dozens of 4J staff and volunteers nominated

More than 40 terrific 4J employees and volunteers have been nominated for recognition in the 9th annual ACE (A Champion in Education) Awards.

ACE Award “Champions” will be selected from Eugene, Bethel and Springfield schools in each of the four categories: Licensed, Classified, Administrators and Volunteers. Each champion’s school will receive a $1,000 award for a project or program at the school.

All nominees will be honored and the champions will be announced on the evening of Tuesday, April 29, at an elegant awards ceremony at the Hult Center. To reserve a seat, please register online. Admission is $10 per person and seating is limited so early registration is advised. Register online 

The ACE Awards are a collaborative effort of the Eugene 4J, Bethel and Springfield school districts and the Eugene and Springfield chambers of commerce. The program is made possible by the generous support of presenting sponsor Oregon Community Credit Union and other supporting sponsors from the local business community: Hershner Hunter LLC, PacificSource and SELCO Community Credit Union.

Congratulations to all of the nominees from Eugene School District 4J:

Licensed Staff
Chava Beinin
, Language Arts Teacher, Roosevelt Middle School • John Benson, 3rd Grade Teacher, Edison Elementary School • Cecelia Brands, Teacher on Special Assignment, Technology Department • Matthew Cerbin, 3rd Grade Teacher, Willagillespie Elementary School • Tracy Conaghan, English Language Learners, Holt Elementary School & ATA Middle School • Patrice Cowman, 1st Grade Teacher, Willagillespie Elementary School • Chris Dobson, Music Teacher, South Eugene High School & Spencer Butte Middle School • Eric Freeman, 3rd Grade Teacher, Camas Ridge Community Elementary School • Brian Gulka, 5th Grade Teacher, Gilham Elementary School • Ann Hettick, Health Educator and AVID Teacher, South Eugene High School • Miho Hosaka, Culinary Arts Teacher, North Eugene High School • Mary Kuhl, 4th Grade Teacher, McCornack Elementary School • Karen Lacey, Speech Specialist, Educational Support Services • Joe Mancuso, Special Education Teacher, Roosevelt Middle School • Angie Ruzicka, Math and Science Teacher, Cal Young Middle School • Dave Sheehan, Alternative Programs Teacher, Street Academy / Eugene Education Options • Kenneth Silverman, District Elementary Music Teacher, Instruction Department • Mike Stead, Woodshop Teacher, Madison Middle School • Olivia Stieber, Language Arts Teacher, Spencer Butte Middle School

Classified Staff
Rick Baker
, Custodian, Willagillespie Elementary School • Kim Blaser, SPED Educational Assistant, Monroe Middle School • Roger Butenschoen, Custodial Maintenance Coordinator I, Twin Oaks Elementary School • Joni de Saint Phalle, Finance Clerk, South Eugene High School • Karen Kingzett, Middle School Secretary, Roosevelt Middle School • Debora Kovensky, Behavioral Educational Assistant, Roosevelt Middle School • Sue Quillan, Administrative Assistant, Educational Support Services • Tom Riedman, SPED Educational Assistant, Monroe Middle School • Gary Selland, Custodial Technician, Facilities Management • Corinne Smith, Custodial Maintenance Coordinator I, Gilham Elementary School • Hugh Smith, Maintenance Worker III, Facilities Management • Jackie Solares, Instructional Assistant, Buena Vista Spanish Immersion School • Joyce Stevenson, Elementary School Secretary, Buena Vista Spanish Immersion School • Cheryl Storms, Finance Clerk, North Eugene High School • Deborah Stowell, Food Service Assistant II, Bertha Holt Elementary School • Leslie Wonn, Educational Assistant, McCornack Elementary School

Sara Cramer
, Director of Elementary Education, Instruction Department • Garry McCready, Information Systems Manager,Technology Department • Susan Penrod, Principal, Spring Creek Elementary School • Suzy Price, Federal Programs Director / Priority School Coach, Instruction Department • Laurie Moses, Director of Secondary Education, Instruction Department

Pearla Aguilar
, Buena Vista Spanish Immersion School • Thomas Bettman, South Eugene High School • Sandra Estep, North Eugene High School • Ron Feist, Willagillespie Elementary School • Donna Ivanoff, McCornack Elementary School • Maja Martir, River Road/El Camino del Río Elementary School • Mary Pat Piazza, Gilham Elementary School • Jean Sydow, Buena Vista Spanish Immersion School

ACE Awards website

This entry was posted in Featured, News. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.