Finalists Named in Superintendent Search

Monday, March 2, 2015 10:23

3 top candidates all have strong Oregon ties

After gathering significant public input on what to look for in the Eugene School District’s next superintendent and conducting a nationwide search, the Eugene School Board has named three finalist candidates, all of whom have backgrounds in classroom teaching and strong ties to Oregon:

  • Dr. Gustavo Balderas, Superintendent at Ocean View School District in Huntington Beach, Calif.
  • Dr. Heather Cordie, Superintendent at Sherwood School District in Sherwood, Ore.
  • Dr. Sloan Presidio, Assistant Superintendent at Fairfax County Public Schools in Virginia

Parents, students, staff and community members are invited to meet and provide input on the finalist candidates at a community forum on Thursday, March 5, 6–8:30 p.m., at the 4J Education Center, 200 N. Monroe St. in Eugene. Each of the candidates will share information about themselves, then respond to questions. Community members will be asked to share their input.

Learn more

About the candidates
About the search process