Home » Board of Directors » Budget Committee

Budget Committee

The 4J Budget Committee reviews the proposed budget, listens to comments from citizens, and then approves the budget. The committee reviews the proposal to ensure that the district is planning to spend money in furtherance of expressly stated district goals.

The committee is made up of the district’s 7-member board of directors and an equal number of citizens appointed by the board. Members of the budget committee are appointed by open vote of the school board as openings occur. They serve for three-year terms and receive no compensation for their services. Budget committee members must reside within school district boundaries and be registered to vote, and may not be a district employee.

 


Meetings

The committee typically meets once in January and twice in May. Additional meetings may be scheduled based on the information needs of the Budget Committee.

Budget committee meeting information and materials is posted online at BoardBook.


Public Input

The budget committee encourages public participation and allows time at each meeting for public testimony.


Membership

APPOINTEES:

Joshua Burstein
Email: joshuaburstein@gmail.com
Term:  7/01/2017 to 6/30/2020

Robert Chandler
Email:  steelheadtarpon@gmail.com
Term:  07/01/2017 to 06/30/2020

Tim Gleason
Email:  tgleason@uoregon.edu
Term:  7/1/2015 to 6/30/2018

Lyn Jost
Email: L.jost@comcast.net
Term: 07/01/2017 to 06/30/2020

Merri Steele
Email:  merristeele@comcast.net
Term:  07/01/2017 to 06/30/2020

Dan Williams
Email: daw@uoregon.edu
Term: 07/01/2016 to 06/30/2019

Jennifer Winters
Email: jwfrancois@comcast.net
Term: 07/01/2015 to 06/30/2018

ELECTED EUGENE SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS:

Alicia Hays
Email: hays_a@4j.lane.edu
Served since: Jan. 8, 2007 in Position #1
Term ends: June 30, 2019

Anne Marie Levis
Email: alevis@4j.lane.edu
Served since: July 1, 2009 in Position #2
Term ends: June 30, 2021

Judy Newman
Email: newman_j@4j.lane.edu
Served since: July 1, 2017 Position #3
Term ends: June 30, 2021

Eileen Nittler
Email: nittler_e@4j.lane.edu
Served since: July 1, 1995 in Position #4
Term ends: June 30, 2019

Evangelina Sundgrenz
Email: sundgrenz_e@4j.lane.edu
Served since:  July 1, 2017 in Position #6
Term ends:  June 30, 2021

Jim Torrey
Email: jtorrey@4j.lane.edu
Served since: July 1, 2007 in Position #5
Term ends: June 30, 2019

Mary Walston
Email:  mwalston@4j.lane.edu
Served since:  September 30, 2009 in Position #7
Term ends:  June 30, 2019