Home » Board of Directors » Budget Committee

Budget Committee

The 4J Budget Committee provides advice and direction and meets to examine the entire budget. Oregon school budget law requires a local budget committee to recommend a district’s budget to the school board. The school board has final approval authority.

The committee is made up of the district’s 7-member board of directors and an equal number of citizens appointed by the board. Members of the budget committee are appointed by open vote of the school board as openings occur. They serve for three-year terms and receive no compensation for their services. Budget committee members must reside within school district boundaries and be registered to vote, and may not be a district employee.



The committee normally meets once or twice in the fall or winter and then two to three times in May during the budget approval process.

Budget committee meeting information and materials is posted online at BoardBook.

Public Input

Citizens are involved in almost every step of the 4J budget process. The Budget Committee encourages public participation and allows time at each meeting for public testimony.



Joshua Burstein
Email: joshuaburstein@gmail.com
Term: 07/01/2014 to 06/30/2017

Tim Gleason
Email:  tgleason@uoregon.edu
Term:  7/1/2015 to 6/30/2018

Sabrina Parsons
Email: sabrina@paloalto.com
Term: 07/01/2014 to 06/30/2017

Merri Steele
Email: merristeele@comcast.net
Term: 07/01/2014 to 06/30/2017

Evangelina Sundgrenz
Email: esundgrenz@gmail.com
Term: 07/01/2016 to 06/30/2019

Dan Williams
Email: williams_dan@comcast.net
Term: 07/01/2016 to 06/30/2019

Jennifer Winters
Email: jwfrancois@comcast.net
Term: 07/01/2015 to 06/30/2018


Jim Torrey
Email: jtorrey@4j.lane.edu
Served since: July 1, 2007 in Position #5
Term ends: June 30, 2019

Alicia Hays
Email: hays_a@4j.lane.edu
Served since: Jan. 8, 2007 in Position #1
Term ends: June 30, 2019

Jennifer Geller
Email: jgeller@4j.lane.edu
Served since: July 1, 2009 in Position #6
Term ends: June 30, 2017

Beth Gerot
Email: gerot_b@4j.lane.edu
Served since: January 20, 1999 in Position #3
Term ends: June 30, 2017

Anne Marie Levis
Email: alevis@4j.lane.edu
Served since: July 1, 2009 in Position #2
Term ends: June 30, 2017

Eileen Nittler
Email: nittler_e@4j.lane.edu
Served since: July 1, 1995 in Position #4
Term ends: June 30, 2019

Mary Walston
Email:  mwalston@4j.lane.edu
Served since:  September 30, 2009 in Position #7
Term ends:  June 30, 2019