Home » Board of Directors

Board of Directors


The seven-member Board of Directors is the policy-making body of the school district. The board derives its legal authority from the statutes of the State of Oregon.

The board selects the superintendent as the district’s executive officer and delegates the responsibility for implementing its policies and plans to the superintendent. The board also has the annual responsibility of adopting a balanced school district budget. Board members serve without pay.


The school board usually meets in regular public sessions on the first and third Wednesdays of each month at 7 p.m. at the Education Center, 200 North Monroe, Eugene. Special meetings and work sessions are scheduled as necessary. For the most recent schedule, please visit this website.

Copies of the agenda for school board meetings and background information about the agenda are available at each school board meeting; agendas also are posted online before each meeting. All regular board meetings are broadcast live on the district’s radio station, KRVM-AM 1280. (Note: The board meetings on KRVM-AM 1280 are not available through a streaming service and can only be heard by tuning in on a radio.)

Public Input

The school board encourages public input. Comments on items that are not on the board’s agenda may be made at the beginning of each meeting. Audience members who wish to speak may sign up at the beginning of the meeting. Comments also may be sent to board@4j.lane.edu or mailed to School Board, Eugene School District, 200 N. Monroe Street, Eugene. OR 97402. For questions and information please call 541-790-7706.


Copies of school board policies and the district’s administrative rules can be reviewed at each school and in the Education Center at 200 North Monroe Street. School board policies can also be reviewed at the Eugene Public Library and are also available online at http://policy.osba.org/eugene/.


The school board sets goals for itself and district administration; these goals are posted online.


Board members are elected from the district at large to serve four-year terms. Board elections occur in May of each odd numbered year. The term of office for board members begins on July 1 immediately following the election.

When a position on the board is vacated before the end of the term, the position will be open for election at the next school board election. The school board will solicit applicants and select by majority vote a community member to appoint to the vacant position until June 30 following the next regular election.

To be eligible to serve on the board, a person must be a registered voter in the school district, must have been a resident of the district for one year immediately preceding the election, and may not be an employee of the district or any charter school within the district.

Resources provided by the Oregon School Boards Association:
How to Become a School Board Candidate
School Board Candidate Guide


Alicia Hays, 2018–19 Chair
Email: hays_a@4j.lane.edu
Served since: Jan. 8, 2007 in Position #1
Term ends: June 30, 2019
Occupation: Retired
School Board Appointments: 4J Budget Committee; Board Leadership
Current Community Involvement: State of Oregon’s Youth Development Council; Lane ESD Budget Committee; Zonta Club of Eugene-Springfield; United Way’s Success by Six; United Way’s 100% Access; 90×30 Steering Committee

Anne Marie Levis, 2018–19 Vice Chair
Email:  alevis@4j.lane.edu
Served since: July 1, 2009 in Position #2
Term ends: June 30, 2021
Occupation: President of Funk/Levis & Associates: a Brand Marketing Firm
School Board Appointments: 4J Budget Committee; Board Leadership; Legislative Priorities Committee
Current Community Involvement: University of Oregon Alumni Association; ShelterCare Fundraising Committee 

Judy Newman
Email: newman_j@4j.lane.edu
Served since: July 1, 2017 Position #3
Term ends: June 30, 2021
Occupation:  Director of Early Childhood CARES of Lane County
School Board Appointments: 4J Budget Committee; Instruction Advisory Council; Bond Oversight Committee; 4J Equity Committee; Lane ESD Budget Committee Liaison                                            Current Community Involvement:  Early Learning Alliance of Lane County (ELA), Connected Lane County Executive Committee, DHS Advisory Committee, UWLC Advisory Group, University of Oregon Research and Outreach Committee (ROC), State Interagency Advisory Council for Early Intervention and Early Childhood Special Education (SICC).

Eileen Nittler
Email: nittler_e@4j.lane.edu
Served since: July 1, 2015 in Position #4
Term ends: June 30, 2019
Occupation: Social Worker
School Board Appointments: 4J Budget Committee;  Eugene Education Foundation; Bond Oversight Committee
Current Community Involvement: School volunteer; middle school mentor; ASPIRE mentor; Stand for Children

Evangelina Sundgrenz
Email:  sundgrenz_e@4j.lane.edu
Served since: July 1, 2017 in Position #6
Term ends: June 30, 2021
School Board Appointments: 4J Budget Committee; Legislative Priorities Committee; Audit and Finance Committee; Lane ESD Budget Committee Liaison, Charter School Committee
Current Community Involvement:

Jim Torrey
Email: jtorrey@4j.lane.edu
Served since: July 1, 2007 in Position #5
Term ends: June 30, 2019
Occupation: Retired
School Board Appointments: 4J Budget Committee; Audit and Finance Committee; Legislative Priorities Committee
Current Community Involvement: PeaceHealth Community Board; Agate Resources Board of Directors; Pearl Buck Center Board of Directors; ODE-ELL Outcome Improvement Advisory Group

Mary Walston
Email: mwalston@4j.lane.edu
Served since: September 30, 2009 in Position #7
Term ends: June 30, 2019
Occupation: Consultant, Legislative Liaison, Technical Writer
School Board Appointments: 4J Budget Committee; Instructional Advisory Council; Lane Council of Governments Executive Committee;
Current Community Involvement: Pacific Cascade Federal Credit Union Board of Directors; Oregon Horse Rescue Board of Directors; River Road Community Organization Board; Downtown Public Speakers; 4J classroom volunteer

Student Advisory Panel

A student advisory panel sits with the board at all regular public meetings and represents students’ interests. The panel consists of one representative from each high school.

Student representatives communicate information from the student bodies to the board and from the board to the student bodies.