Home » Instructional Services » Student Services » Special Programs » Lane Regional Program » Blind & Visually Impaired

Blind & Visually Impaired

Teachers for students who are visually impaired assist IEP/IFSP teams with:

  • Parent and infant developmental skills instruction
  • Braille instruction
  • Orientation and Mobility
  • Activities of daily living skill instruction
  • Low vision aids and equipment
  • Transition issues and related training

Adaptive or specialized equipment and materials are often needed. These may include:

  • Large print textbooks and materials
  • Braillewriters
  • Tape recorders and taped materials
  • Low vision aids
  • Computer adaptations and software
  • Travel aids
  • Developmental toys and games

Consultation to families, IEP/IFSP teams and other educational personnel include:

  • Technology access (appropriate equipment and low vision aid selection)
  • Inclusion strategies
  • Inservices on implications of visual impairments and blindness
  • Transition issues (kindergarten, vocational and career considerations)

Assessment of the child, student and/or educational setting includes:

  • Functional vision evaluation
  • Learning media assessment
  • Developmental, readiness, academic adaptive needs
  • Orientation and Mobility

Eligibility

Eligibility criteria for special education as a student with a visual impairment is stated in Oregon Administrative Rules. The Lane Regional Program will provide service to students who meet both the medical and educational needs criteria. The school team makes eligibility determination after reviewing the report of eye examination by a license ophthalmologist or optometrist, as well as assessments conducted by the resident school district and a Lane Regional Program teacher.

For More information, please call 541-790-7848

Contact Information:

Joane Butler, Administrator, 541-790-7825
Sue Quillan, Admin Asst, 541-790-7848, quillan@4j.lane.edu

VI Staff
Lisette Ewing, Teacher, Referrals 541-790-7848
Tim McLeod, Teacher/O&M Instructor 541-790-7865, mcleod@4j.lane.edu
Barbara Minkler, Teacher/ O&M Instructor 541-790-7868, minkler@4j.lane.edu
Marla Runyan, Teacher 541-790-7837, runyan_m@4j.lane.edu
Trumbull Ogilby, Braillist 541-790-7861, ogilby@4j.lane.edu
Peggy Spiess, Braillist 541-790-7844, spiess@4j.lane.edu
Joel Phifer, Braillist 541-790-7867, phifer@4j.lane.edu

Links: