Home » Instructional Services » BEST+ Afterschool Program

BEST+ Afterschool Program

Watch the BEST video

Watch the BEST video

The BEST Afterschool Program, funded in part by a 21st Century Community Learning Center grant  is located in five 4J schools. Elementary students in need of additional reading and math support are invited to participate in these school based programs. The middle school program is open to all students at the middle school site.  The school district’s Title 1 program partners to provide reading and math interventions, staffing, training and curriculum support.

Community partners share their enrichment expertise including:

  • City of Eugene shares recreation, art, music, fitness and STEM classes
  • School Garden Project offers “STEM in the Garden” curriculum
  • Eugene-Springfield Youth Orchestras conducts two beginning strings program for elementary students
  • Eugene Symphony provides “Link Up” a music education program that culminates in a student performance
  • Lane Community College, North Eugene High School & Sodexo will support a middle school CTE  program in the Culinary Arts and Hospitality
  • PAAWS – Reading assistance dogs

 

District BEST+ Contacts

Name Position Phone Email
Raquel Gwynn Program Coordinator 541-790-7572 gwynn_r@4j.lane.edu
Penny Hampson Assistant Program Coordinator 541-790-7556 hampson@4j.lane.edu
Janet Whitty City Supervisor for BEST 541-682-6313 janet.b.whitty@ci.eugene.or.us

School BEST+ Contacts

School School Phone BEST Cell School Plus Coordinator Email
Cesar Chavez 541-790-5325 541-914-4263 Jeanie Rohrbacker rohrbacker@4j.lane.edu
Howard 541-790-4900 541-954-3683 Kelly Henson henson@4j.lane.edu
River Road 541-790-7200 541-915-2072 Renee Henderson mcmurray_r@4j.lane.edu
Spring Creek 541-790-4870      
Kelly 541-790-4740 541-968-0952 Christina Jamerson jamerson_c@4j.lane.edu

School Program Schedules

School Program Times Meal Times
Cesar Chavez 2:10 – 5:10 pm 3:20 – 3:40 pm
Howard 2:10 – 5:10 pm 3:10 – 3:30 pm and 3:30 – 4 pm
River Road 2:40 – 5:30 pm 4:00 – 4:15 and 4:45 – 5:00 pm
Spring Creek    
Kelly 3:30 – 5:30 pm 4:15 – 4:30 pm