Home » News » Featured » School Board Members Elected

School Board Members Elected

Two newcomers, one returning member elected to school board 

Eugene School District 4J welcomes new and returning school board members!

The May 16 election ballot included three 4J school board positions. In the two races that were contested, the successful candidates won by a substantial margin with a majority of the vote. Anne Marie Levis has been elected to continue serving as a member of the 4J school board for the 2017–2021 term. New members Evangelina Sundgrenz and Judy Newman will begin their terms in July.

Judy Newman was elected to Position 3 over two other candidates, Jerry Rosiek and Mary Leighton. Newman will replace board member Beth Gerot, who did not seek re-election following 18 years of service on the school board.

Evangelina Sundgrenz was elected to Position 6, replacing Jennifer Geller, who did not seek re-election after 8 years of service on the school board. Sundgrenz was unopposed on the ballot.

Anne Marie Levis was re-elected to Position 2 over challenger Maya Rabasa. Levis has served on the school board since 2009.

The Eugene School Board has seven members. The 4J school board is elected from the district at large, not from geographic regions. Registered voters who live within the Eugene School District may vote on all 4J board positions on the ballot.

The four-year terms to which Levis, Newman and Sundgrenz were elected begin on July 1, 2017. Director positions 1, 4, 5 and 7, currently held by Alicia Hays, Eileen Nittler, Jim Torrey and Mary Walston, will be on the ballot in May 2019.

Lane County Elections published the official final results of the May special election on May 31, 2017.

More information:

About the 4J school board 
May 2017 election results
May 2017 election information
Additional election information

This entry was posted in Featured, News. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.