Home » News » Featured » 2016 ACE Awards Nominees

2016 ACE Awards Nominees

Nearly 80 outstanding 4J employees and volunteers have been honored with a nomination for the 2016 ACE (A Champion in Education) Awards.

ACE Award “Champions” will be selected from Eugene, Bethel and Springfield schools in each of the four categories: Licensed, Classified, Administrators and Volunteers. Each champion’s school will receive a $1,000 award for a project or program at the school.

All nominees will be honored and the champions will be announced on the evening of Tuesday, April 19, at an elegant awards ceremony at the Hult Center. To reserve a seat, please register online. Admission is $10 per person and seating is limited so early registration is advised. Register online 

The ACE Awards are a collaborative effort of the Eugene 4J, Bethel and Springfield school districts and the Eugene and Springfield chambers of commerce. The program is made possible by the generous support of title sponsor Oregon Community Credit Union, reception sponsor Kendall Auto Group, supporting sponsors Hershner Hunter Attorneys and Eugene–Springfield McDonalds, and other supporters from the local business community.

Congratulations to all of the nominees from Eugene School District 4J:

Teachers & Other Licensed Staff

Amy Anderson, Kindergarten Teacher, Awbrey Park Elementary School
Nancy Anderson, Music Teacher, Sheldon High School
Richard Bell, Home Instruction Teacher, Educational Support Services
Rick Bliss, Industrial Education Teacher, Cal Young Middle School
Kimberly Brown, 1st Grade Teacher, Willagillespie Elementary School
Meredith Coelho, Math Teacher, Roosevelt Middle School
Chris Dobson, Music Teacher, South Eugene High School and Spencer Butte Middle School
Gregory Dunkin, Home Economics Teacher, South Eugene High School
Susan Dwoskin, 5th Grade Teacher, Edison Elementary School
Amanda Edgecomb, 1st & 2nd Grade Teacher, Bertha Holt Elementary School
Rachel Farkas, District Elementary Physical Education Specialist, Instruction Department
Susanna Goodwin, Spanish Teacher, Roosevelt Middle School
Sarah Hocken, Chemistry Teacher, South Eugene High School
Janice Hornsby, Counselor, Kelly Middle School
Lisa Iacovetta, Social Studies Teacher, Churchill High School
Sara Justice, 1st Grade Teacher, Awbrey Park Elementary School
Peggy Karotko, Language Arts and Social Studies Teacher, Monroe Middle School
Kyle Kordon, Science and Math Teacher, Kelly Middle School
Yvette Landrum, Special Education Teacher, Gilham Elementary School
Kathleen McAuliffe, Counselor and Language Arts Teacher, Churchill High School
Talon Nansel, Music Teacher, Monroe Middle School
John O’Donoghue, Counselor, South Eugene High School
Christina Powell, 3rd Grade Teacher, Awbrey Park Elementary School
Laura Queirolo, AVID Teacher, Spencer Butte Middle School and South Eugene High School
Kerri Sage, District Testing Coordinator, Instruction Department
Victoria Sanguino, Kindergarten Teacher, Buena Vista Spanish Immersion Elementary School
Tricia Schroffner, Nurse Practitioner, Educational Support Services
Jed Shafer, Language Arts Teacher, Early College & Career Options (ECCO)
Jen Smith, 3rd Grade Teacher, McCornack Elementary School
Brianna Stiller, School Psychologist and Behavior Specialist, Educational Support Services
Jeff Stimler, Kindergarten Teacher, Bertha Holt Elementary School
Kim Sullivan, Special Education Teacher, Camas Ridge Elementary School
Melissa Swift, 2nd Grade Teacher, Howard Elementary School
Tami Walkup, Speech Specialist, Educational Support Services
Janet Watson, 2nd Grade Teacher, Edgewood Elementary School
Anne Wilson, Health Education Teacher, Kennedy Middle School
Colleen Wright, Special Education Teacher, Edgewood Elementary School
Jeff Wyman, Language Arts and Social Studies Teacher, Roosevelt Middle School
Carla Zimmerman, 3rd Grade Teacher, Howard Elementary School

Classified Staff

Carol Alferes, Accounting Clerk III, Financial Services
Jeremy Boyce, Behavioral Educational Assistant, Awbrey Park Elementary School
Kristen Bradley, Autism 1:1 Educational Assistant, Chávez Elementary School
Diane Dugan, School Secretary, Camas Ridge Elementary School
Theresa Garnsey, Educational Assistant, Bertha Holt Elementary School
Heidi Hakes, Educational Assistant, Camas Ridge Elementary School
Pete Hamm, Lead Custodian, South Eugene High School
Rebecca Hanson, Autism 1:1 Educational Assistant, Howard Elementary School
Virginia Hathaway, Cognitive Educational Assistant, Adams Elementary School
Susan Holmgren, Cognitive Educational Assistant, Gilham Elementary School
Debora Kovensky, Behavioral Educational Assistant, Roosevelt Middle School
Jeremy Niccum, Custodial Maintenance Coordinator I, Edison Elementary School
Jana Ouimet, Cognitive Educational Assistant, Gilham Elementary School
Jake Reents, Technology Support Specialist III, Technology
Beth Smith, Autism 1:1 Educational Assistant, Chávez Elementary School
Meladie Sorensen, Vocational Training Assistant, Transition Education Network
Sandra Sullivan, Food Service Coordinator I, Camas Ridge Elementary School
Donna Swan-Sixkiller, Department Assistant, Sheldon High School
Linda Thiesfeld, Route Planning Coordinator, Transportation Department

Administrators, Professionals & Supervisors

Eric Anderson, Principal, Charlemagne French Immersion Elementary School
Stephanie Cannon, Interim Principal, Early Career and College Options (ECCO)
Shae Donnelly, Young Parent Program Supervisor, Early Career and College Options (ECCO)
Jericho Dunn, Assistant Principal, South Eugene High School
Wes Flinn, Principal, Kelly Middle School
Sara Green, Director of Elementary Education, Instruction Department
Tom Maloney, Principal, Camas Ridge Elementary School
Garry McCready, Information Systems Manager, Technology Department
Michael Riplinger, Principal, Awbrey Park Elementary School
Leila Schuck, Education Administrator, Educational Support Services


Nadine Batya, Camas Ridge Elementary School
Bree Bouse, Edgewood Elementary School
Julie Butler, McCornack Elementary School
Dennis Gerl, South Eugene High School
Sarah Hathaway, Howard Elementary School
Wesley Lachman, Chávez Elementary School
Tom Lininger, South Eugene High School (and other schools)
Moira Querns, Bertha Holt Elementary School
Josh Reckord, Camas Ridge Elementary School
Judy Salisbury, Willagillespie Elementary School
Christine Sampley, Roosevelt Middle School

This entry was posted in Featured, News. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.